monologue

Here is a monologue I wrote for my creative writing course. The brief was to write from the perspective of a butcher who had just broken up with their partner:

I’m sorry Tina, I’m so very sorry for everything that’s happened. Please don’t interrupt what I’m about to say as I want to try and explain why things have turned out like this and I hope you’ll allow me to do that. OK here goes. Ever since I’ve taken over the reins of the business from my dad things have just spiralled out of control, it’s so much harder than I thought it would be, times are tough and I have to work round the clock to keep the business afloat. These days customers aren’t thinking about the local family butchers going under, they’re buying their meat from the supermarket and it’s all about the convenience for them and saving money of course, but I don’t blame them really. Anyway I know it’s not an excuse but I’ve been so busy trying to make my dad proud that I’ve neglected the things that are important to me, you and little Alfie. I’ve been so stupid, I know I should’ve realised this before you walked out on me and it shouldn’t have had to come to this. The house feels so empty; it’s not the same without your smiling face to greet me when I step through the door. Please come back to me Tina I miss you so much. I know it’s a lot to ask, you’ve had to put up with so much recently and I don’t blame you for walking out but things will be different you’ll see. Come home and I promise I’ll concentrate more on us as a family rather than the business, I’ll employ someone to help me run it to take the weight off me a little, I’ll make more time I will. I can’t lose you Tina we’ve been together for ten years and I can’t imagine my life without you. Please, just think about it.

Leave a Reply

