customising clothing

A while ago I brought a t-shirt that was designed to look like it had been customised. It had several pieces of material sewn onto the front in a slightly haphazard way; the fabric was mismatched and the stitching untidy, but I was rather taken with its style. I was surprised when I wore it how many people commented, and some even asked me if I’d modified the top myself. This got me wondering whether I could, so I decided to give it a go. Armed with a cheap white t-shirt, a selection of sequins and some denim from an old pair of jeans, I set to work. I’ll be the first to admit, I’m not the most adept with a needle and thread, so it took me a while to do, but the end result was a multi-layered denim flower with a sparkling middle, and I was rather pleased with my attempt! It’s fulfilling to own a piece of clothing that’s self-created and completely unique, plus it also helps the environment by cutting down on waste. If you fancy customising something yourself, here are a few suggestions:

– Most new tops and jumpers come with extra buttons, thread or sequins, so start a collection of useful bits and pieces; you never know when they’ll come in handy.

– You can find ready-made patches and iron on transfers in a haberdashery, and they’re really easy to attach.

– Rather than getting rid of old or unwanted clothes, save them for spare material.

– Search in charity shops or jumble sales for cheap stuff to use when customising. You might find a top that you like the pattern of, but aren’t so keen on the style,

in which case you could use it to cut up into pieces.

– Adapt a piece of clothing that isn’t expensive, and then it won’t matter if it doesn’t quite go to plan.

– Start off simple; don’t be too ambitious or you’ll just give up if you don’t achieve what you want. Even simply swapping buttons or adding a sequin or two, will jazz up a top that you’ve grown bored of.

– Try customising bags, belts, hats, or even shoes, in fact whatever takes your fancy.

– Search online for more tips and ideas, there are some good websites and forums. You can even find websites to learn about different stitching techniques too.

Leave a Reply

