2012 – a year to remember‏

2012 has been a memorable year for Great Britain, with major events like the Queen’s Jubilee, the Olympics and the Paralympics making it a summer like no other. For me personally, it will also be a year to remember but for many different reasons. Here’s my round up of the many highs and few lows of 2012.

With the new year came the new me – a low-carb diet and regular jogs around the park in preparation for my late-Spring wedding. It paid off, as by the time it got to the end of May, I was over a stone lighter and slipped perfectly into my size 10 wedding dress. So the first few months of the year were mainly taken up by wedding preparations, as well as getting to grips with my new role as Production Manager at Premier League Productions, which I’d started the previous December.

In April, I had my hen night in London, which was superbly organised by my bridesmaid and soon-to-be sister-in-law, Ros. We started off with cocktails, followed by dinner in a private ‘stable’ at The Riding Horse Cafe, and then karaoke to finish the night. It was a lot of fun!

 Hen Party Wedding Day

Despite it having rained solidly for about six weeks, our wedding day on the 26th May was a beautifully sunny day. We couldn’t have asked for better. The intimate ceremony took place at Chelsea Town Hall, and then it was on to Bluebird for dinner, drinks and dancing with family and friends. We got some fantastic photos by the river too, thanks to our brilliant photographer, Jas Lehal.

The following day, we jumped on the Eurostar to France, spending one night in Paris before heading down to the south coast for a week of sunshine and fine food in Juan-les-Pins. We managed to explore a bit of the French coastline too including visits to Nice, Antibes and Cannes. After that we caught the train into Italy, spending a couple of nights in sun-baked Milan and then finishing up at Lake Como where we split our stay between Gravedona in the north (click here for a previous blog post) and Como Town in the south (click here for a previous blog post). The view of the lake from high up in the hills was one of the highlights of the honeymoon for me. Then, one final night in Paris marked the end of our fabulous trip and it was back to London to begin life as the new Mr and Mrs Lancaster.

Glasses Chinking Lake Como

Normally the end of a holiday means the inevitable and depressing return to work, but on coming back from honeymoon I was on a contract break from my job and still had a blissful 7 weeks in which to do very little. Unfortunately the weather had returned to that more typical of a British summer, but I still enjoyed some very relaxing days reading in the park and topping up my tan. On more unpleasant days weather-wise, I became rather creative and enjoyed making a range of Sequin-Sue greetings cards, as well as starting to write reviews for Weekend Notes.  It was also during this time that we acquired a new pet budgie called Buddy, and I discovered that I was pregnant with our first child! This wonderful news made my return to work on August 1st slightly more bearable.

Buddy Scan

On finding out we were expecting, Tom and I promptly started house hunting and we eventually found and had an offer accepted on a two-bed flat in late November. The sale is still going through, but hopefully we will have a new home in Mortlake to move into in the very near future.

In September, we were able to officially announce our pregnancy to family and friends after having a positive 12-week scan. The first glimpse of our child growing inside of me will be something I’ll never forget. I’ve been keeping a separate blog about my pregnancy, which you can view here.

The rest of the year seemed to slip by very quickly. November was birthday month for both Tom and I – mine was celebrated with a lovely lunch at The River Cafe and then a Gary Barlow gig in the evening, and Tom had an 80s inspired gathering at a central London pub to mark his 30th.

In early December my Nan very sadly passed away, although she was almost 92 and pretty much bed-ridden, so she has definitely gone to a better place. Then Christmas was quickly upon us, and with visits to both Essex and Stoke to squeeze in, it was a busy but nice end to the year.

So that brings us to now – it’s sad to say goodbye to 2012, but I’ve got a feeling 2013 will be just as exciting, with a brand new addition to the Lancaster family very much on the horizon, and a new home to look forward to as well. Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

